DNC Statement on Indigenous Peoples Day

DNC Chair Jaime Harrison, DNC Native Caucus Chair Clara Pratte, and DNC AANHPI Caucus Chair Bel Leong-Hong released the following statement commemorating Indigenous Peoples Day: 

“Today, we honor Indigenous Peoples of the 574 federally recognized tribes as well as Native Hawaiians and Native Pacific Islanders for their countless contributions to our society. The Biden-Harris administration has been committed to uplifting Native communities across our country. President Biden and Vice President Harris have made historic investments in Tribal communities to support Native language preservation, health care, broadband access, and more. We are proud that the administration has taken steps to hold consultation with both Tribal leaders and Native Hawaiian leaders to begin drafting a best practices guide for federal agencies to use when making decisions regarding sacred sites.

The administration has also increased indigenous representation at the federal level by appointing indigenous peoples to key roles in the administration, including our nation’s first Native American Cabinet Secretary Deb Haaland, the first Native American U.S. Treasurer Marilynn Malerba, and Keone Nakoa, a Native Hawaiian, as the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Insular and International Affairs.

“While we can never erase the past atrocities that our nation’s indigenous peoples have endured, we will continue to stand and honor our nation’s promises to American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians.”